Home-Start Herefordshire is constituted as a registered charity and company limited by guarantee. It is therefore governed by its Memorandum and Articles of Association (its governing documents).

Like each Home-Start scheme, it is independently run but operates in accordance with the Home-Start UK National Agreement and their policies and procedures,  operating  under their guidance. It is governed by a Board of Trustees who meet bi monthly and has overall responsibility for the scheme and ensuring it acts at all times within its governing documents and the Home-Start Agreement.

The Trustees are advised by representatives from the statutory sector and volunteers who attend Trustee meetings once every six months.

The Trustees employ the staff team including the Scheme Manager who oversees the day-to day running of the organisation.

The Trustees are responsible for:-

  • The effective governance of the scheme including funding, finance, insurance and premises.
  • Implementing  good practice and procedures in employing and supervising staff.
  • Ensuring all policies are adhered to.
  • Providing strategic vision, leadership and direction.
  • Monitoring and evaluating the scheme’s work on a day to day basis.

Trustees are recruited on the basis of a skills audit. Vacancies are advertised via various media forms including the internet. New Trustees are interviewed by the Chair of Trustees and the Scheme Manager. A suitable candidate is recommended to the Board of Trustees and if accepted is subject to a DBS check. New Trustees receive a welcome/induction pack and attend an induction session. Specific training for trustees is also organised by Home-Start UK on a regional and national basis.

        The present Trustee Board consists of:-

 Chair – Andy Walkden
Treasurer –  Jeremy Stobart Temporary position
Vice Chair  – Jan Frances

                                                       Virginia Taylor                                                                                                  Philippa Granthier                                                                                                       Helen Tank                                                               Vicki Murray    

             Click here to meet our trustees!